Key dates

  • Abstract submission deadline (EXTENDED):
    22 January 2016
  • Early registration deadline:
    3 March 2016
  • Accommodation deadline:
    21 March 2016
  • Registration deadline:
    24 March 2016


Tuesday 5 April


Chair: Robert Stamps, University of Glasgow
(Wohlfarth Lecture) Antiferromagnetic spintronics: Large magnitude magneto-resistance effects and current controlled switching
Joerg Wunderlich, Hitachi Cambridge Laboratory and Institute of Physics of the ASCR, UK
The Hadfield Hall


Refreshment break
The Main Hall



The Hadfield Hall
Chair: Lesley Cohen, Imperial College London


Computational II

The Old Banqueting Hall
Chair: Gonzalo Vallejo Fernandez, University of York


IEEE Distinguished Lecture: The magnetism of oxides
Professor Josep Fontcuberta, Institut de Ciència de Materials de Barcelona, Spain

  Uncovering the mystery of pinned interfacial spins responsible for exchange bias
Sarah Jenkins, 
University of York, UK

10:45   Ab-initio theory for the first order ferrimagnetic-antiferromagnetic phase transition in magnetocaloric Mn2Sb-based compounds
Eduardo Mendive Tapia, 
University of Warwick
, UK


Separating the interfacial contributions to the anomalous Hall-like effect in YIG/Pt bilayers
Amy Westerman, 
University of Leeds
, United Kingdom

  Atomistic spin dynamics and temperature dependent properties of Nd2Fe14B
Richard Evans, 
University of York, UK
11:15 Spin Seebeck effect in Fe3O4 thin films
Kelly Morrison, Loughborough University, UK

  Double exchange ferromagnetism in (111) oriented manganite superlattices
Fabrizio Cossu, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia


The Rashba spin-orbit interaction in germanium quantum wells
Christopher Morrison, 
University of Leeds, UK

  Thermal transport in thin metallic films excited by femtosecond optical pulses
Callum Vincent, 
University of Exeter
, UK


Anisotropy Imprinting Through Spin Pumping
Alexander Baker, University of Oxford
, UK






EPSRC Meeting

The Hadfield Hall

Exhibition, Lunch and Posters    
The Main Hall


Synchrotron techniques

The Hadfield Hall
Chair: Thomas Moore, University of Leeds



The Old Banqueting Hall
Chair: Alan Drew, Queen Mary, University of London


(Invited) Magnetic thin film topological insulators
Gerrit van der Laan, Diamond Light Source, UK

  Perpendicularly magnetized particles for cancer therapies
Rhodri Mansell, University of Cambridge
, UK

Synergy between different types of nanoparticles to improve magnetic hyperthermia
David Serantes, University of York, UK

14:30 Investigation of dissipative magnetic solitons using x-ray holography with extended references
Erick Burgos Parra, 
University of Exeter, UK

  Magnetic Surfactants as Molecular Based-Magnets with Spin Glass-Like Properties
Peter Baker,
 ISIS, STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK
14:45 Skyrmion bubble dynamics and room temperature chiral skyrmions
Christoforos Moutafis, University of Manchester
, UK

  Beyond LRT: Validity range of particle properties identification based on LRT
Sergiu Ruta, University of York
, UK
15:00 Resonant Elastic X-ray Scattering on a Multidomain Skyrmion Lattice in Cu2OSeO3
Shilei Zhang, 
University of Oxford, UK

  Experimental investigation of magnetically controlled ferromagnetic swimmers
Joshua Hamilton, University of Exeter
, UK


Refresment break
The Main Hall 


Spin ice

The Hadfield Hall
Chair: Claudio Castelnovo, University of Cambridge


Correlated electrons II

The Old Banqueting Hall
Chair: Heather Lewtas, BAE Systems (Operations) Ltd

15:45 Local manipulation of the magnetic state of large area nanomagnetic arrays
Will Branford, Imperial College London, UK

  (Invited) Magnetic properties of quantum spin ice
Martin Lees, 
University of Warwick, UK
16:00 Magneto-transport measurements of a dipolar coupled Kagome artificial spin ice lattices
Simon Olivari, Cardiff University, UK

16:15 Vogel-Fulcher-Tammann type freezing of the magnetization dynamics in Artificial Spin-Ice
Jose Maria Porro, ISIS, STFC, UK

  Quantitative analysis of magnetic diffuse neutron scattering
in Gd-pyrochlores
Ross Stewart, ISIS, STFC, UK
16:30 Nanomagnetic field-driven thermal mobility of emergent monopoles in artificial spin ice
Sophie A. Morley, University of Leeds, UK
  Frustrated magnetism in the lanthanide zirconate pyrochlores, Ln2Zr2O7 (Ln = Pr-Gd)
Monica Ciomaga Hatnean, University of Warwick, UK
16:45 Cobalt nanowires grown by Focused Electron Beam Induced Deposition for applications in 3D nanomagnetism
Amalio Fernandez-Pacheco, 
University of Cambridge, UK

  Strong Coupling of Hybrid Nuclear-Electron Magnons to Microwave Resonator
Leonid Abdurakhimov, University of Cambridge, UK


Conference closes